Bruised and Battered

That is what I said on Monday as I left work. I told my co-worker that I was going to get bruised and battered while practicing for cyclocross. Well next time I will be more careful what I say.

As you can see from the photos I had a fun night on the bike.

I recently started up a Monday night ladies CX practice due to the fact I had heard of several fabulous women wanting to race CX this year but need to know how. I somehow convinced Civil Racer to coach us (there was promises of beer after races) and got 10 ladies to come out and get dirty rollin on some dirt, grass, sand, and a little pavement.

Pavement got me first. I was trying to carry something in my left hand, hit a pot hole and lost control. I went down hard on my right side. Bike crash #2 in now in the history books. No time to wallow in my wounds it was time to work on dismounting, lifting the bike, going over a barrier and then remounting without breaking stride. I have been working on this for a few days now and had success with it. I did it about 50 gazillion times and on the 51st missed the bike and went down again. This time it was grass so not as bad. I got back up dusted myself off and got back on the bike.

After working on some more skills it was time for hot laps. This is where you go at “race speed” around the full course. Now I was a little tired and the right leg was starting to hurt from the first fall so I was not going to hit it as hard as I should be but still did not want to slack too much. As all of us took off I felt okay but still hung in the back. I stayed pretty much within site of the group until the last part of the course but still had someone with me and then it happened crash #3 for the day. This one was much worse for me then than first two. I was still on the grass but this time I hit hard on my left side and hit my head (thanks goodness for my helmet) and was going faster than I had been on any other crash. This one I did not get up and get back on the bike. I lay on the ground wondering what the hell happened. I tried to stand but thought better of it and went right back to laying down. When I got around to opening my eyes again I was surrounded by people. Crap, I really hate to worry people so I let one of the ladies (studying to be a kick butt nurse) check me out and then got up. I was a little shaky and hurt but nothing serious. But I was DONE. Not for life just for the night. I was beat up and tired. I did get back on my bike and ride to the car but that was about it. I am happy to report that I got on the bike and did it all over again the next day.

One important thing to remember about the River Road Country Club course is that it has an enclosed dog park and many good dog owners take their dogs to the park and let them run free inside the gate. Many BAD dog owners let their dogs run free outside the gate. This is bad bad bad. I am a dog lover and have two of my own but would never let them off leash when there are other people in the park enjoying something other than dogs. So far this season I have been chased and barked at by dogs, rolled through and stepped in crap, with little regard from their owners. A warning to dog owners I will kick your dog in self defense. If one tries to bite me or chase me I will react. Please Please Please keep your dog on a leash and clean up after them.

The girls after Monday night Cyclocross training. Margret, Misty, Me, Stephanie, Jordan, and Kaylene

 

One thought on “Bruised and Battered

Leave a Reply

