Inspiration, IronMan Style.

Yesterday Louisville played host to IronMan for the 6th year. A few years ago I volunteered at this great event and was so inspired by the women and men that do it. 140.6 miles and hours of non-stop physical activity boggles my mind. All you IronMen and Women are AMAZING and inspiring. I will be thinking of all of you next time I am on my bike and want to stop. I will think about how hard you all worked and know that I can go just a little bit more.

I did not volunteer yesterday but did go to the finish line and watch people as they crossed. I am still amazed when they come down the shoot, to the cheers and applause, that they still have the strength to lift their hands and celebrate. All’s I’d want to do it pass out and for someone to hand me a beer and a big ol plate of pasta.

Next year I will return to volunteering. If you live in the Louisville area you should too. It is really fun and rewarding and inspiring and well lots of other really cool stuff.

Will I ever be an Iron(wo)Man? Probably not, seeing as I hate to run and all. I can swim all day and be happy. Bike,well I got that too. But never say never right (eye roll from me)? If you do IronMan I will be on your cheer team. I have a good friend that is thinking about doing it next year and I am already making plans for t-shirts, signs, and how to be in 10 places to cheer them on. It is all part of the fun.

The Finish line at IronMan Louisville KY 2012
One thought on “Inspiration, IronMan Style.

  1. Thanks for cheering people on! The finish line was a great experience. I was surprised people were still there when I finished at 11:40 pm.

Leave a Reply

