Official 1st day of being unemployed

So it appears it is time for me to figure out what I want to do next. I was laid off on Friday from my job of 2 years and 8 months. Deep down I knew this was going to happen. After about a year the person that hired me left for a much better job. I went for about 6 months with no boss than a new Executive Director was hired. From almost day one I knew this was not a match made in heaven but I was going to stick it out and try. About 6 months after he started I was given a new office and a new boss. Cool. Well not really. Let’s just say I am more sad about loosing my health insurance than my job at this point in life. I love the clients that I worked for. They are the reason I was sticking around, well them and some amazing volunteers. I wanted to believe in the end it would all get better because of them. I still hope it does. But for now, it is not something I am going to spent time worrying about. I am going to look forward and figure out what is next for me.

What do I want to be when I grow up? Damn good question. One that I am going to try to answer with this time off. I have been in this spot before and just taken the first job offered because it was a job and regret it. Not this time (unless I am so poor that I HAVE to, but I don’t think it is going to come to that). For starters I have an AMAZING group of friends that have been super encouraging and willing to help. My inbox was flooded with helpful links, job postings, and words of encouragement over the weekend. Keep it coming friends, you all are truly the best. All is welcome and I will be taking your offers of help with figuring out what is next.

I am going to spend some serious time asking myself what I really do want to do. What makes me happy and can I make money doing it? Am I brave enough to work for myself? Do I need an office? I am going to ask my friends what they see in me. What do they see that I am good at doing? How do I get a job doing that? Or create one? Do I want to stay in nonprofit? I am also going to use this blog to help answer some of those questions. As well as document what I am doing day-to-day. So here goes nothing….

Day 1:

Cleaned out my old office. Got rid of a lot of junk that I had been accumulating and still have more to go though. My wonderful mother went with me. She keeps me from saying stupid things that might get me in to trouble.
Dug out the old laptop (had a work one so did not need my old friend). Cleaned it up a bit and I am now crossing my fingers that is stays working.
Hang out with family. Talked about being crafty with them and how to make some money doing that. More to come in this.
Helped sister prepare for an art project
Propagated some Hydrangeas (will up date on this)
Took nephew on walk. This was by far on of the best things I did all day.
Started blogging again.

I was supposed to go on a bike ride but the rain happened so the ride did not. I have one on the calendar for tomorrow. Guess you will have to check back to see if it happened.

Now it is time to sleep. I have an 8am meeting.

Leave a Reply

