One of my 2014 goals is to cook more. I grew up in a family of wonderful cooks and I have been spoiled by a mom who loves her kids to come for dinner so I don’t tend to cook at home myself, not because I can’t but because mom offers so I accept. That is all going to change this year. I am sure I will still go to mom and dads for dinner plenty but maybe I’ll offer to cooke for them?

I started working on this goal last week just to get the ball rolling and it went well. Last night I had a plan to cook but ended up at moms with my sister cooking, still a good home cooked meal. Tonight I determined to cook at home so I did. I had picked up some boneless pork chops at Kroger last week and got them out of the freezer this morning. I then turned to Pinterest to help me with a recipe. I found one with three ingredients and I had all three, soy sauce, honey and garlic. The recipe said to let marinade all day but I only did for about an hour and they were fine. I put the pork in a glass baking dish with the marinade and added some frozen brussels sprouts on top. I cooked them at 350 for 30 minutes with the last 15 minutes on broil. OMG they were so good and the sprouts picked up just enough flavor to be amazing. I was going to make some brown rice to go with the dish but sis and I decided that it took too long to cook so she made some jasmine rice that added a nice touch. I would say that tonight’s at home coked meal was pretty darn good. I will make the chops again.

20140102-215045.jpg

20140102-215122.jpg

Leave a Reply

