2015 recap part 1

Another year is ending and what a year it was for me. 2015 brought more change than many other years in my life. It was overall a wonderful year and I hope the 2016 is just as good.

IMG_2101In late 2014, my love, NPR (yes, those really are his initials), proposed to me. It was a cool and rainy night and just perfect for us. That set the stage for the whirlwind and wonderful 2015. Some of the highlights are below.

In January NPR and I moved into our new house. It is a great house, not too far from my old house. It is much better for hosting friend (one of my favorite things to do). It also is great for all of NPR’s bikes. He has lots of room to store them and work on them. The only think I miss about the old house is the yard and my lovely patio. But the tradeoff was well worth it. We both love the house and all the potential it has.

IMG_2338In February I got a new job with a local startup news publication, Insider Louisville. One that I love. I work with some pretty great people, that I am learning from daily. I was a little uncertain what I was getting myself into when I took the job. I have worked for lots of nonprofit and a few big companies, but never a start-up. One big thing I learned was that a startup is a lot like a nonprofit. It reminds me of my early days at Apple Patch, where work life was fun and the work was rewarding. I get to learn new skills and teach skills that I have. I offer up ideas that are not dismissed, or if they are I am told why. I am trusted to do my job and have been told I do it well. That makes this little ESFJ a happy camper and happy to go to work.

NPR gets a new job. My love is a very talented bike mechanic (I say the best in the city, but I might be a little bias). He is now working for a local shop that really values his talent and where he can have fun being him. On Your Left, is an amazing shop owned by two pretty cool dudes that know a lot about bikes. This makes NPR happy and exited to go to work. If you need your bike fixed or tuned go see NPR. You can also pick up some gear while you’re there. Heck, you can get a whole new bike while you are at it.

How cool that both of us love our jobs?

This year I took a big step and invested in learning how to be a better small business owner. Now I am not looking to leave the previous mentioned job, but it also loves that I have a brand, 502 Social is fun for me and allows me to be creative in ways that my job does not. So the big step was taking a business class that was offered though NAWBO. It was a great class of 8 women that learn a lot from each other and the class. I am very glad I did it, and hope to keep applying what I learned in 2016.

More to come …

Leave a Reply

