Today I got to be a judge. A dessert judge. And not just any kind of dessert, Girl Scout cookie desserts made by Girl Scouts. This was one competition I was ready for.

This is the first year that the Girl Scouts of Kentuckiana has hosted Cookielisious, a girl baking completion using Girl Scout cookies. It was held at the Kentucky Center for African American Heritage in Louisville and drew in about 200 people. I love that they brought it back to the girls and let them be creative.

GSKYA is still doing their signature fundraising event, Desserts First at the end of the month that has chefs from all over the Louisville area by using Girl Scout cookies in creative ways, but more on that in a later post (I am a judge for that event as well).

There were a total of 30 different desserts and each judge was asked to judge 15 of them. Going into this I figured there would be a few stand outs, but I was wrong. They were all standouts, making my job way harder.

The things they asked us to judge on where appearance, taste and use of Girl Scout Cookie. The girls were broken into, their age levels so we did not have to put a 16 year old in the same skill level as a 7 year old. Smart plan.

Let me tell you, these girls went all out (see some pics below). They all did an amazing job and really put their hearts into it, along with way more skill than I could ever have in baking. They earned some mad respect today.

It was my honor and pleasure to do this for the Girl Scouts. The excitement the girls had for this event was evident in the effort they put forth and the joy they were telling me what they had made. I hope the Girl Scouts continue with this event and it keeps getting better and better.

 

 

Leave a Reply

