On twitter there is a hashtag going around that is speaking to my very core, #becauseofgirlscouts. If you know me, you know my love for the Girl Scouts. My blog is even named for a Girl Scout song and I have a tattoo, along with 4 other of my closest Girl Scout friends, that is based on that same song.

With that recent announcement from the Boy Scouts I started thinking of ways I can help promote Girl Scouts and how I can use whatever platform I have to educate people on the organization and what it has done, and is still doing, for me. I am not going to sit here and bash the Boy Scouts and their decision to let girls in, because overall speaking they are a really great organization for BOYS. I will have another post on my feelings about that little announcement once I have my thoughts in order. But for now I will stay in the positive and talk about what I know.

The #becauseofgirlscouts hashtag makes me think of how many truly awesome things I have done in my life and how many awesome things I am still doing. I sat and scrolled through many of the post today and smiled and all the amazing things I read that were being posted from people all over the world. It also brings back a flood of memories and a few moments of, oh yeah, Girl Scouts did teach me that.

Here is the start of my list

#becauseofgirlscouts I can do and teach:

  • pitch a tent
  • camp in the out of doors
  • sail several different type of sail boats
  • Kayak (whitewater, sea, lake, river)
  • Canoe
  • Build a campfire
  • Cook over a campfire (probably better than a stove)
  • Speak to a crowd of people with confidences
  • Interview
  • Conducted myself with grace
  • Plan an event
  • Leave a please cleaner then I found it
  • Always be prepared
  • Mange money
  • Change a tire
  • Change oil in my car
  • Lead #thebesttroop ever
  • Make a darn fine Christmas ornament
  • Make my own butter
  • Shoot a bow and arrow
  • Throw out fun nature facts
  • Count out change without the use of a calculator
  • Work as a team
  • Manage a business
  • Apply for things
  • Take a group of kids for several days away from their home and keep them all alive and happy.
  • Rock climb
  • Explore a cave
  • Remain calm in difficult situation
  • Help a kid not feel homesick

#becauseofgirlscouts I am:

  • A leader
  • A facilitator
  • A crafter
  • A camper
  • A teacher
  • A planner
  • A manager
  • A caregiver

#becuaseofgirlscout I have:

  • Made incredible lifelong friendships
  • Traveled all over the US
  • Taking classes that would not have been offered otherwise
  • Been rewarded many times over
  • Helped maintain a troop of 30+ girls
  • Become a strong, independent, and confident women.
  • helped to be a positive person in young girls lives
  • seen a show on Broadway
  • and many many more things.
Leave a Reply

